Brett Halstead reflects on four years as chair, as Sask Wheat names new executive

Brett Halstead, Keith Fournier, and Shaun Dyrland (S. Haney, RealAgriculture, 2023)

After serving for four years as chair of Sask Wheat, Brett Halstead is stepping back from the role, following the Sask Wheat annual general meeting held January 9 in Saskatoon.

Fillmore-area farmer Jake Leguee has been named chair and Jocelyn Velestuk, of Broadview, as vice-chair.

To reflect on his time as chair, Halstead joined Shaun Haney just after the AGM for a discussion on the policies and issues he’s had to navigate during his time at the helm.

“Four years goes along pretty quick, and it started with the pandemic,” says Halstead, saying that his tenure as chair did have a bit of a slow start because of it. But that didn’t last long, and Halstead’s last two years have been very busy with stick-handling winter cereals joining Sask Wheat in August.

Looking forward, Sask Wheat members brought forward a resolution on the issue of downgrading by high vitreous kernels (HVK) and the focusing on a better understanding of the challenges at the Port of Vancouver. (more below)

Halstead stays on with Sask Wheat as a director. In addition to Leguee and Velestuk (photos below), the Sask Wheat board of directors also includes: Cameron Reich of Craik, Lesley Kelly of Watrous, Scott Hepworth of Assiniboia, Glenn Tait of Meota, and Rob Stone of Davidson.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture