GGC revamps board structure to represent national voice of the organization

Jeff Nielsen, Markus Haerle, Shane Stokke

In a move designed to “streamline decision making and empower the advocacy committees to build consensus and develop policy positions,” the Grain Growers of Canada (GGC) has revamped its structure from a president, vice-president, and executive committee to a chair, vice-chair, and board member organization.

Jeff Nielsen, of the Alberta Barley Commission, was elected chair, while Markus Haerle, of the Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO), and Shane Stokke, of the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission (SaskFlax)m were elected vice chairs. Nielsen served as president of the organization under the old structure.

Hear from Nielsen, Haerle, and Stokke below on why the organization restructured its board, and what priorities the Grain Growers of Canada will bring forward in Ottawa heading in to the 2019 election.

“I am proud to have been elected Chair of the new GGC,” Nielsen says in a news release. “Our members have worked hard over the past year to build a strong framework for an organization that will be a strong farmer voice here in Ottawa. I appreciate their continued support and look forward to what the next year has in store.”

“Grain farmers have an important story to tell on the national stage,” Stokke says. “GGC has a history of being a strong voice for farmers, but the expanded membership, stronger mandate and new governance structure will help us better serve Canada’s grain farmers.”

With the addition of three new members this year, including the Grain Farmers of Ontario, the Grain Growers now represents more than 65,000 grain farmers from all provinces from coast to coast.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture