Canadian Wheat Research Coalition announces first executive

File photo: Debra Murphy, 2014

The Canadian Wheat Research Coalition (CWRC) announced today that it has elected its first executive.

The inaugural executive is as follows:

Chair: Terry Young, a farmer from Lacombe, Alberta, and director with the Alberta Wheat Commission.
Vice-Chair: Laura Reiter, a farmer from Radisson, SK, and director with the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission.
Secretary/Treasurer: Cale Jefferies, a farmer near Glenboron, MB and director with the Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA).

Also on the board: Kevin Auch (AWC), Jason Saunders (AWC), Ken Rosaasen (Sask Wheat), Glenn Tait (Sask Wheat), and Dylan Wiebe (MWBGA).

The formation of the CWRC was announced in late August, following the shift to a single wheat check-off and the end to the Western Canadian Deduction. The not-for-profit corporation is set to facilitate funding of research projects, including: core wheat breeding agreements with universities and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; the next Canadian National Wheat Cluster; and regional projects.

“The three Prairie wheat commissions are committed to working together to drive farmer investment in varietal development and regional priorities,” said Young. “We have seen excellent results in variety development thanks to farmer investment and we anticipate the development of new, high-performing varieties that result in better returns and increased competitiveness for farmers.”

National priorities laid out for Canadian wheat research

The CWRC is structured to allow for membership expansion, to include additional public, private and producer partnerships, and will be administered by each host commission, rotating every three years beginning with Sask Wheat.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Categories: News