It’s Playoff Time — Announcing the Winner of the 2014-15 Real Ag Hockey Pool and the Launch of the 2015 Playoff Pool

realag-hockey-poolWith five Canadian teams headed to the playoffs, the 2014-15 season has been an exciting one for Canadian hockey fans (apologies to Edmonton and Toronto fans), including the 360 people who participated in the inaugural RealAg Hockey Pool. With the regular season ending this weekend, we have a winner that needs crowning, but first, some other hockey news to share:

2015 Real Ag Hockey Playoff Pool Launched

The best hockey is always played in the playoffs, and so we’re stoked, together with Kahntact Marketing, to launch the RealAg Hockey Pool – 2015 Playoff Edition. Who’s going all the way? Will Ottawa’s hot streak continue? Will the Whiteout and the return of playoff hockey to Winnipeg propel the Jets deep into the playoffs? Will Calgary keep finding a way to win? Will Carey Price or Ryan Miller carry Montreal or Vancouver to hockey’s Holy Grail?


It’s free and anybody can sign up. To register, all you have to do is pick the players you think will score the most points and the teams that you think have the best shot. Not only will the winner have bragging rights among the RealAg community, we have some cool prizes, including an iPad Air, that we’ll be giving away when Lord Stanley’s mug is awarded in June. You can check for updates throughout the playoffs.

2014-15 Real Ag Hockey Pool Winner

The NHL awards the President’s Trophy to the best team in the regular season, and we also have a winner in the 2014-15 Real Ag Hockey Pool based on regular season performance.

So without further ado…(drumroll)…originally from Newfoundland, now living in southwestern Ontario, the winner of the 2014-15 Real Ag Hockey Pool is Andy Woodward aka “Imanewfe”!

With goaltending from Montreal’s Carey Price, and Art Ross trophy winner Jamie Benn, Sydney Crosby and Daniel Sedin leading the offence, Imanewfe accumulated 1488 points, a 10 point margin over the second place “Busted Ankles.” “Made in China” rounded out the top three. Check out the complete standings below.

A few notable mentions:

Last (but not least) place: Solar AgriServices

The minister finishes mid-pack: Federal Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz and “The Farm Team” finished in a tie for 212th spot. RealAg has pledged to donate $5 to the Canadian Cancer Society for every team that finished ahead of the minister.

Video guy gets bragging rights: Among the RealAg crew, it was video producer/reporter/enforcer Jason Stroeve finishing closest to the top, with “The Freakin’ Go-Bots” in 23rd place. The rest of the team ended the season as follows: Kelvin Heppner — 51st, Bernard Tobin — 95th, Debra Murphy — 134th, Lyndsey Smith — 182nd, Shaun Haney — 242nd, and Rhettsky and the Tikkanens (Rhett Soveran) — 306th.

Also stay tuned for another RealAg hockey podcast…coming soon.

Wake up with RealAgriculture

Subscribe to our daily newsletters to keep you up-to-date with our latest coverage every morning.

Wake up with RealAgriculture